Chon Ju Jip

chonjujip4373 Convoy St., yelp reviews

Chon Ju Jip is just the kind of restaurant that the Great Convoy Recon is all about: good cheap food, zero pretension.  It’s almost my least favorite word, but this place feels “authentic.”  The decor is nil, but the service is quick and very welcoming.

As I’ve honed my taste for Korean food over the length of Convoy, the banchan – all those little cold dishes which start out the meal – has come to dominate my enthusiasm.   The banchan here is good – a nice selection and some of my favorite items like spicy green beans, pickles, spinach, and potato salad.  All those plates are what turn a meal into a feast.  We also got the seafood pancake – another staple of the Korean diner – which was as good here as anyplace we’ve had it: crisp and greasy on the outside, mushy and delectable on the inside.

Other notable dishes: The bibimbap is bland but serviceable; it’s served on a hot plate rather than a hot bowl so it’s comically prone to overflow when mixed.  The tofu and seafood stew was also somewhat bland but comforting.  And, easier to pronounce than spell, the tteokbokki – a dish of various fish cakes in a creamy chili sauce –  was a nice counterpoint to everything else on the table, though maybe a bit heavy to get all by itself.

(note: if you’ve been reading this blog and are one of those rare birds that actually care about integrity in nomenclature, I’ll let you in on my system.  Generally, I either go with the transliteration found on the menu, if it appears there, or that supplied by Wikipedia, and since I never write anything down, it’s almost always the latter.  Thus, “tteokbokki” (see Wikipedia) rather than the something that started with a “d” I vaguely remember seeing on the menu.  Thus, method to my madness.)

I liked this place a lot and would happily return.  I’m not sure it’s the best Korean place on Convoy – we encountered no real show stoppers on the menu – but everything is good, the staff is friendly, and the price is right.

This entry was posted in Korean. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

